Upanishads, The (travel-size)


Sri Aurobindo’s translations and commentaries on the Upanishads, collected in one volume. Travel size.

SKU: BU/SA.LC Categories: ,


Sanskrit text, translations, and commentaries. 13 Upanishads covered, including Isha, Kena, Katha, Mundaka, Mandukya, Prashna, Taittiriya, plus Gaudapada’s Karikas, and Sadananada’s Vedantasara.

“The twelve great Upanishads are written round one body of ancient knowledge; but they approach it from different sides. Into the great kingdom of the Brahmavidya each enters by its own gates, follows its own path or detour, aims at its own point of arrival. The Isha Upanishad and the Kena are both concerned with the same grand problem, the winning of the state of Immortality, the relations of the divine, all-ruling, all-possessing Brahman to the world and to the human consciousness, the means of passing out of our present state of divided self, ignorance and suffering into the unity, the truth, the divine beatitude. As the Isha closes with the aspiration towards the supreme felicity, so the Kena closes with the definition of Brahman as the Delight and the injunction to worship and seek after That as the Delight. Nevertheless there is a variation in the starting-point, even in the standpoint, a certain sensible divergence in the attitude.”

– Sri Aurobindo, The Upanishads

Free e-Book download The Upanishads in pdf, epub, or Kindle format

Goodreads.com listing for The Upanishads

Additional information




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Upanishads, The (travel-size)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *